

Acknowledging Lands and Peoples

Michigan State University occupies the ancestral, traditional, and contemporary Lands of the Anishinaabeg–Three Fires Confederacy of Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi peoples. The University resides on Land ceded in the 1819 Treaty of Saginaw.

MSU is a "land grant university" and continues to benefit financially from lands appropriated to the State of Michigan through the United States Morrill Act of 1862. To learn more about the relationship of land grant universities like MSU to Indigenous lands, visit <u>www.landgrabu.org</u>.









